Dedicated Natural Heritage Conservation Areas

Dedicated natural areas in Oregon are called Natural Heritage Conservation Areas. For an area to be dedicated, it must first be registered, and must also have a management plan describing how the key biological resources will be managed. Natural Heritage Conservation Areas are similar to federal Research Natural Areas in that they are designed to serve educators, researchers, resource managers and the general public with access to Oregon's natural heritage resources far into the future. INR's Oregon Biodiversity Information Center assists state agencies in identifying candidate sites for dedication. 

Eight sites are currently dedicated: 

Cape Blanco

Cape Meares

Cascade Head                 

Netarts Spit

Onion Peak               

Saddle Mountain

Steens Summit

Winchuck Slope

Additional information on these sites is available from ORBIC.